ಠ_ಠ

ಠ_ಠ
 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
Shaunography
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1297
Age : 29
Points : 28

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:10 am

BRYN_BORANGA wrote:
Shaunography wrote:
BRYN_BORANGA wrote:
Yeah, I do like 'The Last To Know', but on the whole I feel the album is incoherent and suffers not only from Big Sick Ugly Jim's departure (a lot of the guitar is very basic, sometimes just demo-y strumming), but another figure notable by his absence on a lot of the tracks is Roddy Bottum. As a result it sounds bland and indistinguishable from a lot of punky shouting people. 'Digging The Grave' was such a disappointing single.

Dude, Angel Dust would have sounded the exact same (if not better) if Jim hadn't have been there. Watch the Angel Dust sessions on Youtube - when they're interviewing him he's by far the least enthusiastic member, by far the least creative and talks shit about basically every band member. He said that he didn't like the music on the album and hated the album's title. Jim's the last person you want to thank for Angel Dust.

Oh yeah, I know that. Apparently he worked on his own and came back with all these shitty one-note guitar solos and stuff, but they got there in the end and at least he and his riffs were there. And he contributed the mighty 'Jizzlobber'. With KFAD all Patton had to work with was the (admittedly awesome) rhythm section, but without the interplay of Jim's Sabbathness and Roddy's homosexualisms it just didn't feel like Faith No More to me, and still doesn't.

Roddy contributed to AOTY a lot more than he did on KFAD... I believe his Dad died around the same time as the recording sessions, thus his absence. Don't get me wrong, Angel Dust is my aourite FNM album.

And yeah, Jizzlobber rules.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.last.fm/user/shaunography
BRYN_BORANGA
Gozer ¬_¬
Gozer ¬_¬
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 4880
Age : 38
Points : 828

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:11 am

I may be misremembering this but apart from his obvious antipathy for the material and direction the band were going in at the time, apparently Jim's lack of enthusiasm was also linked to the death of his father at around the time of the recording. Interestingly, the same reason was given for Roddy for his lack of involvement with KFAD (the death of his own father, not Jim's lol). Maybe it's just music industry slang for drug addiction.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shaunography
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1297
Age : 29
Points : 28

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:11 am

kimdealslover wrote:
Wan't the whole Jim/Patton feud at breaking point by that time? I know he didn't want to go in the direction they were heading after Angel Dust and promptly acted like a right twat when Patton took over. Well it was sorta his band to begin with.

Nah, it's Puffy, Roddy and Billy's band.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.last.fm/user/shaunography
BRYN_BORANGA
Gozer ¬_¬
Gozer ¬_¬
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 4880
Age : 38
Points : 828

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:12 am

YEAH MAN! We are the KINGS of musician dad death factz!!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ginwai
Shapeshifting Master of Darkness
Shapeshifting Master of Darkness
avatar

Number of posts : 5066
Points : 1423

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:12 am

i put the King For A Day album on my iPod the other day and still the only truly great song on it is The Last To Know. i really have to be in the mood for the rest of it.

Album Of The Year's fuckin' A though. not even a sniff of Jim there.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bidders
Awesome Wizard Whale
Awesome Wizard Whale
avatar

Number of posts : 4246
Points : 1205

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:17 am

Patton projects post FNM pwn anything FNM ever did, SO THERE! :-P
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ginwai
Shapeshifting Master of Darkness
Shapeshifting Master of Darkness
avatar

Number of posts : 5066
Points : 1423

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:18 am

Tomahawk debut equals it. not sure about everything else.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bidders
Awesome Wizard Whale
Awesome Wizard Whale
avatar

Number of posts : 4246
Points : 1205

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:21 am

Fantomassssssssosmfgmomfgomdgofmgofmgofmfogmggffpfl¬!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BRYN_BORANGA
Gozer ¬_¬
Gozer ¬_¬
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 4880
Age : 38
Points : 828

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:22 am

Here's an opinion about FNM that you're all gonna love:

I think both Chuck Mosely albums are better than 'The Real Thing'.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BRYN_BORANGA
Gozer ¬_¬
Gozer ¬_¬
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 4880
Age : 38
Points : 828

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:23 am

I've never given Patton's solo stuff much time, maybe cos he's just too prolific. It's too daunting to start even thinking about it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shaunography
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1297
Age : 29
Points : 28

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:39 am

ginwai wrote:
Tomahawk debut equals it. not sure about everything else.

Tomahawk's "Anonymous" is up there with Patton's best albums and his album with John Kaada is absolutely flawless. Naked City is another band to check out, but it's more John Zorn's band than Patton's. Bungle's his best band, though, I think.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.last.fm/user/shaunography
Shaunography
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1297
Age : 29
Points : 28

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:41 am

BRYN_BORANGA wrote:
I've never given Patton's solo stuff much time, maybe cos he's just too prolific. It's too daunting to start even thinking about it.

Nah, gotta catch 'em all!

Seriously though, there's a lot of good stuff. Peeping Tom or Mr Bungle's "California" may be a good place to start. Also try his EP with Dillinger Escape Plan, if you're into the heavier stuff.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.last.fm/user/shaunography
kimdealslover
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1461
Points : 532

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:52 am

I actually hate the Dillinger EP.

It's fucking overrated claptrap.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kimdealslover
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1461
Points : 532

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:54 am

BRYN_BORANGA wrote:
Here's an opinion about FNM that you're all gonna love:

I think both Chuck Mosely albums are better than 'The Real Thing'.

I know a friend who thinks the same way. I don't think I stick any of Chuck Mosely's 'singing' for more than two songs.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Big_Fat_Dan
Belly'll Getcha
Belly'll Getcha
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 2350
Age : 35
Points : 935

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:58 am

i like the Dillinger Ep
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shaunography
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1297
Age : 29
Points : 28

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Sun Jan 18, 2009 2:55 am

kimdealslover wrote:
BRYN_BORANGA wrote:
Here's an opinion about FNM that you're all gonna love:

I think both Chuck Mosely albums are better than 'The Real Thing'.

I know a friend who thinks the same way. I don't think I stick any of Chuck Mosely's 'singing' for more than two songs.


I agree with you about that, but "Irony is a Dead Scene" was sick. WGDDBT = win
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.last.fm/user/shaunography
BRYN_BORANGA
Gozer ¬_¬
Gozer ¬_¬
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 4880
Age : 38
Points : 828

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:02 pm

Captain Beefheart's Trout Mask Replica is the best album in the world, ever. If you've heard it, you will either agree with that statement unequivocally or puke through your eyes in rage.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AceCombat
A Very Good Troll
A Very Good Troll


Female
Number of posts : 8855
Age : 31
Points : 2053

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:06 pm

I bought that for my sister once, because the name made me lol.. Still havn't heard it, though I'm pretty sure she hates it...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BRYN_BORANGA
Gozer ¬_¬
Gozer ¬_¬
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 4880
Age : 38
Points : 828

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:11 pm

I used to fucking hate it, and I mean fucking hate it, like it was a bad joke that cost me eight quid. I'm not quite sure what changed, but now whenever I hear a song off it on shuffle, I have to listen to the whole album. It's a genuinely unique album, something even its detractors have to admit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AceCombat
A Very Good Troll
A Very Good Troll


Female
Number of posts : 8855
Age : 31
Points : 2053

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:21 pm

I should listen to it... Now that you've got me curious...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ROCK AND ROLL
Evangelist
Evangelist
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 2412
Points : 1408

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:07 am

The singing on "The Real Thing" influenced my singing and the overall weight of my voice. I gained upper range notes practicing along with "From Out Of Nowhere". I don't like the other stuff so much.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kimdealslover
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1461
Points : 532

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:33 am

BRYN_BORANGA wrote:
Captain Beefheart's Trout Mask Replica is the best album in the world, ever. If you've heard it, you will either agree with that statement unequivocally or puke through your eyes in rage.

Yeah. I once watched a documentary about that album and just about every celeb interviewee thought it was shit at first but think it's the best thing ever. At least they were honest.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
O Goncho
Dungeon Keeper
Dungeon Keeper
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 7943
Points : 1780

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:40 pm

I quite like that annoying new iPod touch song. Shoot me.

_________________
Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shaunography
Funky Samurai
Funky Samurai
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 1297
Age : 29
Points : 28

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:28 pm

Captain Beefheart is beyond overrated and is about as experimental as a bag of peanuts.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.last.fm/user/shaunography
ReDfEsTeR
Right Hand of Doom
Right Hand of Doom
avatar

Male
Number of posts : 3269
Points : 1094

PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:02 pm

pink floyd are shit
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition   

Back to top Go down
 
Your Unpopular Opinion: Music Edition
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Similar topics
-
» [SPOILER] Unpopular Opinions on the anime
» Unpopular Thomas Opinions
» ALW ranked tops as a music thief
» Arabic and turkish music
» New limited edition set from Alpine Miniatures

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
ಠ_ಠ :: Forums :: Music-
Jump to: